Maggi and me

Translation - "Maggi and me, the secret to happiness." Truer words were never spoken!

I was really excited to come back to Africa for many reasons, one of them being the food. So far I have seen a lot of things that are very familiar to me from Togo and Ivory Coast, as well as things that are new (and delicious-looking). I knew I came to the right place when I saw signs for Maggi everywhere. It seems to be the seasoning of choice (in cube form and in sauce bottles), and that is something I can live with.

Here are some things I have already enjoyed, or look forward to enjoying:

  • Peanuts in whiskey bottles
  • Fufu (the inyams are everywhere!)
  • Shawarma (avec des frites!)
  • Beignets (sucré ou salé)
  • Sugar cane (watch out for splinters!)
  • Koolikooli (deep-fried crunchy peanut brittle-thingy = yum)
  • Okra sauce (sauce de kilomètre)
  • Brochettes (they are on every street corner)
  • Mutton (also on every street corner)
  • Rotisserie chicken
  • Bissap (African Kool-Aid!)
  • Pilchards in tomato sauce (I don’t actually want to eat these, but oh the memories!)
  • Baguettes (also on every corner, and so cheap, only 200 CFA!)
  • Grilled corn on the cob
  • Lots and lots of hot peppers (très piquant!)

That is all for now. I sincerely hope that this list will grow.

This entry was posted in Niger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Maggi and me

  1. Tamira says:

    You are really making me homesick . The thing I miss the most is fufu. Maybe I can grow some in my garden. The hot peppers and eggplants I grew for you younger Korns are now ripe.

  2. Haha, Josh now you’ll start to regain your high school physique!

  3. Rebekah says:

    This is exactly the post I did not need to read today. I would seriously consider committing a crime for a shawarma avec frites right now, and I have been contemplating making my own beignets d’haricot at home, although I *know* they would be a huge disappointment. So I probably won’t. You know, I still have that green Schnapps bottle (which I ASSUME contained peanuts when you bought it, and not that other stuff) that your family gave me as a birthday present nearly 20 years ago. It’s one of my favorite things. An empty liquor bottle is a fantastic gift for a 14-year old girl.

  4. Cyndi Chestnut says:

    I visited Senegal recently and had some bissap. I enjoyed it very much. Very sweet stuff.
    Cyndi C.

Leave a Reply

