Busted!

So you know how I was ratting Josh out for getting pulled over by the police on our first day driving in the country? Well now I’m eating my words. Yesterday, on Josh’s birthday, of all days, I was a real winner on the road. First, I got lost as I was on my way to a store to find pillows (which I never found. I mean, I found the store, but did not find pillows. Apparently the only pillows you can find here are either made with something that feels very much like straw, or they are the thickness of 3 pillows stacked on top of each other). Anyway, on my way home, I took a wrong turn, which brought me to an area I didn’t recognize. I apparently came to a roundabout . (Remember how Josh got pulled over for not using his signals while in a roundabout?) The fascinating thing about Niger is, there are many of these invisible roundabouts: No median in the middle of the road, no painted circles in the middle of the road… Just a wide open space where cars are going every which way, all at the same time. I drove through that “space” and was immediately pulled over. This time, the policeman didn’t kindly give me a verbal warning, but took my license along with the car registration papers and told me I had to go to the police station to pay to get it back. I then continued to try to drive home, but couldn’t find my way. On top of that, my cell phone was out of credit. (Everyone buys phone cards here. No phone plans).

It’s all ok now… Found my way home, the ticket’s paid for, got my license back, borrowed pillows, got extra phone cards to keep in my purse, and now I will use my blinker ALL the time… Even when it’s totally unnecessary, in my opinion.

Josh encouraged me by pointing out that I’m on a roll with trying to fit in all my “firsts” within the first month of being here… Malaria, getting in trouble with the law,…..

my (tiny) ticket. Thankfully, I only had to pay 4,000 CFA (roughly $8)

This entry was posted in Niger, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Busted!

  1. Naomi says:

    Bahahahahahahaha best photo so far! …really captures the essence of your story!

  2. Lubaaa! We miss you! Rafi saw the picture and said. “Why is Julie like that?” as in making that face =)

  3. Tamira Korn says:

    Poor baby, you are having a crash course . Keep the blinkers on love you

  4. Rana says:

    awwww, you should’ve given the policer officer that face! he would’ve felt so bad he wouldn’t have given you a ticket! lol. At least you are getting it all out of the way so things can fly smoothly from now on! =) xoxoxoxo

  5. Beau says:

    Julz your so AWESOME!!!! I love and miss you . . . You guys have fun . . . don’t sweat the small stuff 😉

  6. Orit says:

    Haha, nice Julz!

  7. yael says:

    Nothing quite beats being initiated into a new culture like a driving violation! One little ticket gives you deeper insight into the country’s psyche than a hundred days of incident-less driving. For example: in my first week in Canada, I got a ticket for being parked more than 30 cm from the curb (I was about 32 cm away). Let’s just say I learned a lot about Canadian culture that day… The moral of the story being: way to go Julie! You’re acclimatizing by leaps and bounds!

Leave a Reply

