So THIS is what they call Harmattan.

Trees in our yard.

I had just gotten home from the hospital when all of a sudden everything went dim. I thought to myself, “here goes the electricity…” but it didn’t go out. I heard a strange howling outside. I turned to look at the front door and everything was bright red! I seriously thought there was a fire in our yard! I ran outside and instantly got pelted with sand from every direction. The sky was truly fire-engine red and there was such a thickness in the air that you wanted to hold your breath. It was only 4:30 in the afternoon and just minutes before, the sun and the heat were dominating the sky. I ran back inside to grab the camera and took a few quick pictures. Josh called me shortly after to make sure I was home because chances of being hit by a car in Niamey are high on a regular day, but they’re even higher during a sandstorm. I promise I did not tweak these pictures!

Looking at our house from the front gate.

The wind was so strong.

Looking out at the street from our front gate. Cars were inching along.

More cars inching along.

The flowers that line the front gate.

More trees.

The view from inside.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So THIS is what they call Harmattan.

  1. SURREALISM DEFINED!! How long did it last?

  2. Eva says:

    Wow! So glad you got home in time! What an experience!

  3. Marcia says:

    AMAZING!! Thank you for sharing the photos, and educating me.

  4. Joseph A Broom says:

    Amazing–thanks for the pictures!
    Cathy

  5. Bonnie says:

    WOWWWWW! That is……..INCREDIBLE! Was it dust or sand? Did it sting to be out in it?
    Cool. Now you gotta go clean your house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

