5 Casts. 3 Kids. 1 Chair.

It was a busy day at the hospital. I usually see one kid at a time for art therapy sessions. This day, though, got so busy and time was running out. I have a regular schedule with the kids, but things are unpredictable and there are so many variables that come into play. The kids go back and forth to the operating bloc, for dressing changes and for physical therapy, so I have to be flexible. But in this case, the day was almost over and there were three little boys that I hadn’t seen.

I wheel a little wheelchair everywhere I go on the hospital grounds. The art therapy room is clear across the hospital from the patient guesthouse where all the kids stay. I knew I would only have time to see one child so I thought I would make sure to see the other two boys first thing the next morning. But when I wheeled the chair up to their little hang out spot, outside on mats, the 3 of them were asking who was going to be next. I explained that time was running out and it wouldn’t be possible to see them all. The looks on their faces crushed me. They were so disappointed. So I quickly wracked my brain for a plan. I knew I only had one hour and I only had one little wheelchair. I don’t usually see three kids at once, but I realized that this time had to be an exception.

“Ok,” I said, “you’re all coming.” Immediately, I started putting all three boys, along with their collective 5 casts clanking together into the wheelchair. They thought it was hilarious and so did their mothers. We rode to the art therapy room and they had a great time painting and coloring together.

It was fun to see their reactions to each other. They have each been to art therapy sessions separately, but never together. It created a different dynamic, but I think they really enjoyed it. They where chatting away with each other, and seemed to be comparing notes. Questions like, “What is the best way to hold a marker,” and “How much paint should be squirted out” were mulled over (I think), with satisfactory results.

Two heads are better than one, of course, but three heads are better than two.

Their casts are bright white here, but soon to be painted!

This entry was posted in Art Therapy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 5 Casts. 3 Kids. 1 Chair.

  1. Deb. says:

    Jules, They are GORGEOUS!!! This makes me miss Niger so much! Keep up the great work!

  2. Nomi PB says:

    What cuties!

  3. YAY!! What an absolutely delightful blog! I would have loved to seen a picture of the mother’s faces as well as you wheeled out the 3 boys in one chair!

  4. yael says:

    At first I thought you wrote “5 cats,” which caused a bit of confusion when I looked at the pictures. But I worked it out in the end… 🙂

  5. Lindell and Kay says:

    Julia, you are amazing…..we love you and pray for Josh regularly.

  6. Lindell and Kay says:

    Oh, we pray for you regularly too. It is way too early on Shabbat…ha.

  7. Mark Anthony says:

    Group therapy!

  8. Brenda Herzberg says:

    Their smiles are sunshine for the heart.

  9. Adele Perlov says:

    Reading this posting was such a wonderful way to start the week! Thank you, Julie.

  10. Christine Sakakibara says:

    loved this story, loved the pictures, love your heart !

  11. Bonnie says:

    I love it! I work with a little girl sometimes with her art therapist (as the interpreter) and it makes me think of you! Keep up the good work. Love you. ~Bonnie

  12. idiomasjanet says:

    Great blog post, thank for sharing, Julie.

  13. idiomasjanet says:

    PS idiomasjanet=Marlisa

  14. Pingback: Josh & Julie Korn: 5 Casts. 3 Kids. 1 Chair. | CURE Blog

Leave a Reply

