Celebrating one year with Leon

Last week, on November 21st we celebrated the 1 year anniversary of Leon coming into our home and becoming a part of our family. Leon was 4 months old when we brought him home and he is now a big 16 months! He wasn’t yet sitting, he had no teeth, he was tiny, but also chubby. Now he’s running and dancing and we can’t get him to sit still for more than a few seconds. He has been so much fun and a whole lot of work! We love it and we are blessed beyond words.

Leon at 4 months

Leon at 4 months

My parents were here last year when he came home to us and they get to be here again this year to celebrate his “Gotcha Day.” Last year, the day we got him happened to be the day before Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving has become my new favorite holiday.

We still have so far to go in the adoption process and would appreciate all the prayers we can get. The waiting and the uncertainty has been a stressful and trying time, but we know and believe that it will work out. It is no mistake that Leon came into our lives. There have been so many signs along the way to prove it, and although Leon is not legally our son, he became our son the day he came into our home.

There are times that I will be out with him at the market or somewhere else and people will ask me if Leon is my son. I am always taken aback, even though I should probably be used to it by now. It makes me think of all the times I took one of my nieces or nephews to the store or the park. Nobody ever asked me if I was their mother. They just assumed I was, even though I wasn’t. I know with Leon people ask because we look different, and I know that they are not trying to offend me or anything, but it honestly gives me a bit of a jolt each time, because I don’t even notice the fact that we are different anymore. Or I should say, I only notice it when others do.

Even though there are still so many uncertainties with the adoption, and even though things are far from finalized, and even though Leon will never look like me and we will probably always get funny looks in the market or questions in the store, he is my son and nothing will ever change that. The first year has been great, can’t wait for many more.

hbjbkjn

Note – Josh really wanted the cake to say “Gotcha Sucka!” but I wouldn’t let him.

Waving is Leon's new favorite thing.

Waving is Leon’s new favorite thing.

I love the way Leon is looking at Josh here.

I love the way Leon is looking at Josh here.

He was more excited about the candy on the cake than the actual cake. Just like his mom.

He was more excited about the candy on the cake than the actual cake. Just like his mom.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Celebrating one year with Leon

  1. Josa says:

    There is something remarkably Special about this little boy. Leon emits pure happiness and Joy! It’s contagious.
    Keep up the Good Work!

  2. Nomi P-B says:

    Can’t believe it’s already been a year! Happy Gotcha Day, Korns. I’m not gonna lie, I wish the cake said ‘sucka’.

  3. Sharona P says:

    Love it! Happy Gotcha Day Leon and family. So glad Saba and Minka could be there! He has such an awesome smile! Love and miss you all! Save a piece of that yummy looking cake for me, k? Miss your baking Lovely Julia. 🙂

  4. yael says:

    “… he is my son…” – I totally choked up at that! Sooooooooooo happy for you guys! Words can’t express…

  5. Laura Blystra says:

    Love this. Happy Gotcha Day to all of you, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Veronika Weiner says:

    Happy celebration to ALL OF YOU THERE! What a special reason for Thanksgiving!

  7. Chris says:

    LOVE this…great pictures and super awesome job giving sweet little Leon the loving home that will change the course of his life. You guys are amazing. So wonderful to see how he has grown. Love you!

  8. dania says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!! This is late but I am totally celebrating with you in spirit. Love you guys so much!!!

Leave a Reply

