Aramatou’s last surgery

Aramatou has been at the hospital now for exactly a year and a half. In just a couple weeks she will undergo her final surgery. She has had many surgeries over the course of her stay at the hospital and she can’t stop talking about how excited she is for the 24th of February (the scheduled surgery date). Almost every time I see Aramatou, she brings it up. She can’t wait to go home and show everyone her straight legs. She said, “I can’t believe my legs used to be so crooked. When you look at my legs now, it’s even too hard for me to believe what they used to look like!” We talked about how each day that she has been at the hospital has been one step closer to her full recovery and each day she waits for her last surgery is like a little celebration because she’s that much closer to being fully healed.

We decided in an art therapy session this week that what better way to count down to her last surgery than to make a calendar that she can mark off each day until she reaches the big day. She was so excited as we made the calendar together. She kept saying, “I will be so excited to wake up each morning so that I can cross off the day! It will even be hard for me to sleep, knowing I get to cross off another day the next morning.” I can’t imagine what it must be like living in a hospital for over a year without any family members around. Aramatou is probably the strongest person I know. She has come through so much and she is fighting through to the last days with more strength and energy than when she first came.

Let’s cheer her on as she is so close to being done. Will you remember to pray for her in these next few weeks? Mark your calendars everyone! February 24th, and in the days leading up – Say a prayer for Aramatou!

Aramatou with her calendar.

Aramatou with her calendar.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aramatou’s last surgery

  1. Sdoepke says:

    Thanks for sharing such a wonderful story. Rejoicing in her healing.

  2. Laura says:

    I have so much love for this girl!!! Feb 24 is on my calendar!

  3. Sally Bergner says:

    Thoughts and prayers will always be with you. What an incredible person you are to have gone through all your troubles. You are very special and I only wish you the best.

  4. Erin Kopp says:

    She is so remarkable! Reading her journey and learning from her wisdom this past year and a half has been such a gift! Hugs to this precious precious gal!

  5. Liz Kopp says:

    What a beauty!! So wish I could be there to cheer her on her last operation day!! Please give her a ton of hugs from me!

Leave a Reply

